No. 2: Kimi no Iru Machi (A Town Where You Live)

By Kouji Seo

KNIM eba 1

Genres: Drama, Romance, School, Shounen, Ecchi

Status: On-going

Summary:

Kirishima Haruto lives in a small town in Hiroshima and is just about to enter high school when Eba Yuzuki, a mysterious girl from Tokyo suddenly decided to go to high school in the countryside. Despite his objections, she moves in to his home. Haruto must now put up and take care of this clumsy freeloading city girl and at the same time, make sure his long time crush Kanzaki Nanami doesn’t get the wrong idea!

And so, one of the greatest love stories ever to be drawn in manga was born!

Now, let me explain to you why this manga is so great, in terms of story, character, art, and enjoyment.

KNIM 4

Story:
For all its greatness, it starts out with a typical romance story setup: a boy meets girl scenario. The story soon becomes intense, in a way that is indescribable. The relationship of Haruto and Eba, and with other people are so well portrayed that I experience what the characters did vicariously while I was reading it. Talking about anything in the plot will spoil the manga. Just trust my words on it. This manga is epic.

Art:
I myself am not a huge art person, so I can’t give you the details. What I can say is that the girls in the manga have incredibly slim figure and beautiful features, enough to make male readers fall in love with them.

KNIM1

Character:
The main characters are realistically portrayed through “mundane” incidents in the manga. Almost every major character in this manga is likeable, even though they make mistakes and hurt other people’s feelings. This is why this manga is one of the best coming-of-age story. However, a significant flaw should also be pointed out. All the minor characters have flat personality, a trait that is quite annoying sometimes. This only gets worse and worse as we approach the later chapters.

Enjoyment:
I thoroughly enjoyed this manga. A word of warning, though, this manga turns into a romantic-comedy with occasional seriousness toward the later chapters. I have to blame this on the manga becoming so popular that this trend is almost demanded by populace.

KNIM 3

Nonetheless, for boys and girls who would like to read a superb romance manga, this will not disappoint. Personally, nothing (unless it turns into complete rubbish, which is not happening) will stop me from associating KnIM with the title of “The Best Manga Love Story Ever”.

Overall: 
This is an incredible romance, drama, slice-of-life manga that realistically portrays the relationship between a high-school boy and a high-school girl (a relationship that is extended in university). You may not agree with my giving it the title of “The Best” in romance category, but it is an undeniable fact that reading this manga is a hell of a ride.


3 responses to “No. 2: Kimi no Iru Machi (A Town Where You Live)

  • James Alexander

    I saw the anime and I’m not sure how true it is to the manga. What you described above sounds the same though. The anime didn’t focus much on when Eba and Haruto lived together but more on their later life in Tokyo. I felt the anime came to a great conclusion but I won’t spoil that here. I agree with you, it was an engaging story and unlike a lot of romances, had me guessing till the end as to what the outcome would actually be. I agree too about the art, it was beautiful in quite a classic way, reminding me of older animes. Thanks for your review. I’m interested to see what your number one is!

    • bunny1ov3r

      thanks.

      you might not heard of my number 1 though (but then, it is getting pretty popular these days).

      and just so you know, I made a mistake with my list before, so there will actually be an number 0 (the actual number 1!).

Leave a Reply

THEANIMEMAN

Anime Here. Anime There. Anime Everywhere.

Gonzo's Anime Love Shack

Here to teach you the ways of anime and cute 2D girls

Haru's Anime Blog

A blog about anime, manga and japanese culture

Animetics

Shine On Till Dawn

Bulgogi Chan

Hand feeding you delicious fandom feed

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom