Saiteihen no Otoko

Since I run out of review-worthy recently-watched anime, I am doing a manga review today, always for manga that was completed.

tumblr_mvdbepGwzO1r4xqamo1_500

Murai Masahiko (16) has a fetish for the smell lingering around a scumbag in his class. One day, a beautiful girl named Mizusawa Haruka transfers into his class, but when they start dating he spills the truth: “Mizusawa Haruka died 5 years ago…” Who the hell is she!? What are her intentions!? The heart pounding suspense horror Scumbag Loser begins! (Source: Batoto)

First off, if you are just looking for a happy-go-around romance/slice of life manga, stay the fuck away from this one. Saiteihen no Otoko is noticeably different from the majority of other manga because it actually tries to be a true horror story, with messed up contents. This is quite rarely seen in the medium of manga and anime.

The story is relatively short, with only 14 chapters and approximately 40 pages in each. There are however a tons of narrative contents told in mere 3 volumes. The pages are filled with twists and turns, leaving readers on the edge of their seats. The manga never loses its intensity, though there is a departure of tone in the second half of story, opting for a less scary but more “shounen” tone. Compared to numerous similar mystery manga that I’ve read (with shitty ending), it actually gives a great finish. At least I found it satisfying and not pulled out of nowhere.

Being a psychological horror story, there is a heavy focus on MC’s (unstable) state of mind. I myself am not a “scumbag loser” like MC, but even I can see the loser characteristics are exaggerated. Still, it’s entertaining (in a shounen way) to see how even a person who resides at the bottom of social hierarchy can exhibit moments of heroism, at crucial moments.

c042-043

I don’t think I can do a better job of commenting on the art than what is shown by the two pictures so far. Scared yet?

[Fyi: itadakimasu means bon appétit]

tl;dr

Overall, for its satisfying story, unique art style, and generally decent execution, I award it with a 7.7/10.

RECOMMENDATION

Recommended to readers who want to read an actual horror story in manga, or anyone who want to take a break from the mass of ecchi harem.

Don’t even attempt this if you feel disgusted to the point of throwing up simply looking at the two drawings from this manga.

For ultimate recommendation, I point you to Ibitsu, also a short horror story.

 

 


3 responses to “Saiteihen no Otoko

  • zxu01

    Is this site real?

    • bunny1ov3r

      I am not sure which site you are talking about, my wordpress blog or myanimelist.net’s link on ibitsu. Both sites are “real”, if that answers your question.

  • Tifa Arif

    I’d like to thank you about the recommendation🙂 I have read Ibitsu. Personally The ending wasn’t satisfying for me. I thought it was too short >< I'll make sure to read Saiteihen no Otoko. Somehow it looks better than Ibitsu. I'll know after finishing it😉

Leave a Reply

THEANIMEMAN

Anime Here. Anime There. Anime Everywhere.

Gonzo's Anime Love Shack

Here to teach you the ways of anime and cute 2D girls

Haru's Anime Blog

A blog about anime, manga and japanese culture

Animetics

Shine On Till Dawn

Bulgogi Chan

Hand feeding you delicious fandom feed

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom